On the hunt for the Gruffalo!

TGIF! My day off from work, and the start to a three day weekend.

*Looks out the window, and it is raining* Autumn is here and winter is well on its way. I can feel it in my bones, literally! Time to rustle out the blankets, sweaters, socks and jackets. It is the time of the month to get nice and snug under lots and lots of layers…to the disappointment of my boyfriend.

However, before this horrible weather set in me and my family spent last weekend on the hunt for the Gruffalo! For all of you who don’t know what that is, The Gruffalo  is a children’s book by  Julia Donaldson, illustrated by Axel Scheffler, that tells the story of a mouse’s walk in the woods. On his journey the mouse encounters several dangerous animals. Each of these animals, clearly wants to eat him and invites him back to their home for a meal. The cunning mouse declines each offer. To dissuade further advances, he tells each animal that he has plans to dine with his friend, a gruffalo, a mosnter-that’s half grizzly bear and half buffalo. Frightened that the gruffalo might eat it, each animal runs away.

Even, for an adult of my age (although a child at heart) this book is fun to read and at every Christmas I without fail watch it on BBC 1. It’s one of my mini holiday traditions.

Well, this hunt for the Gruffalo took place in an Essex forest – Thorndon Country Park not to far from home. I have to say, it is really nice for a family day out or to walk your dog. The weather was really nice, perfect for the hunt…here are some snap shots of the day. (Please excuse the quality of the photos, it was all captured on various mobile phones)

 Image

I’m not to sure it was a good idea to trust my 4 year old and 3 year old nieces with the maps…but you have to admit they look so cute trying to lead the way.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

