When Le Tour de France came to East London

So it really isn’t everyday that Le Tour de France comes to London and it really isn’t everyday that it also passes through your local area!

So this morning I had an impromptu moment. I messaged my boss and asked if myself and British Comedy blog could cheekily leave work early and catch the race. With that said myself and British Comedy blog made our way to work for 9:30am and was given the all clear to leave extra early!! What an amazeball boss we have!

By the time we arrived back to Walthamstow, the streets were already lined with spectators waving their yellow/ union jack flags. So first things first, hunt down these free flags!

Free flags that were distributed for the race

Free flags that were distributed for the race. On the other side was the Union Jack

How could you not want one? Next on the list, get some food and drink, explore and then find the perfect spot to see the cyclist fly by. The last was easier said than done, but eventually we both nestled ourselves on a patch of green…right at the edge of the road. It really pays to be small at times – which is rare.

According to numerous websites, the cyclists were meant to arrive at approximately 2:15pm. How wrong that time was. We in fact stood for about two hours or more waiting for them to arrive but at least we had the “caravan” to entertain us- and freebies to catch. One which was thrown practically at my chest area, only to land on my lap. What was it you ask? A magnet. Being short, yes a drawback – I was not able to reach for the teas, lighters, bracelets or anything else they threw at the crowd. But, hey I got a free magnet!

Here are a few snaps of what we saw during the “caravan”

IMG_1053

Fruit shoot

IMG_1057

Haribo!!

IMG_1059

McCain Chips

Roll on 3pm and Le tour de France was nearing our resting spot. T minus 5 minutes- cars, motorcycles were zooming down the road. They were soon to be here and when they did, the sheer speed of the cyclists was unbelievable.

Filming and snapping pictures simultaneously, it only lasted a sheer 30 seconds before they left. Travelling around 60 km/h you could only be in awe of what had passed…

Even though the cyclists flew by, the atmosphere of the day was just amazing. If it ever comes to London again, I am sure to be there waiting with my camera! (I’ll just make sure to charge it the night before the race- my heart stopped when both my camera and phone battery were in the red.)

Here are a few snaps of the racers and once I am able to, I will upload the video to this blog.

Snaps I took of when the cyclist arrived near Whipps Cross roundabout.

Snaps I took of when the cyclist arrived near Whipps Cross roundabout.

Snaps I took of when the cyclist arrived at Whipps Cross roundabout.

Snaps I took of when the cyclist arrived at Whipps Cross roundabout.

Leave a Reply

