My first home-made pie.

Personally, I’m not much of a baker. I’m more of an eater, I see the cake, and I eat it. My sister is a fantastic baker so I tend to leave it to her… You’ve all seen her cakes and mine just don’t compare. BUT I am trying and we all have to start somewhere, right?

So what was my first baking endeavour? A home-made apple pie, but why an apple pie you ask? Well, it’s all thanks to my friend who gave me a bag of apples, straight from her garden. Fresh and perfect for baking, how could I not make a pie with them?!

SAMSUNG CSC

It may be in a Morrison’s bag, but they are honestly from her garden!

Luckily enough, my sister had previously made some pastry and kindly let me use it for the pie. I’ll include her recipe and method for the pastry below. Since I haven’t really made a pie before, I winged it…I admit was pretty confused, was I meant to bake the pastry blind or not? By not baking it blind, would that result in a soggy bottom ? (I think I’ve been watching too much Great British Bake Off) Either way, I went for the latter and it seemed to turn out well.

SAMSUNG CSC

Apple Pie

Ingredients:

Pastry:

225g of plain flour

140g of cold butter – cubed

6 tsp of cold water

Filling:

6 Apples – picked straight from the tree

1tbsp of butter

1 handful of currants

3 tbsp of sugar – it can vary depending on the sweetness of the apples and your tastebuds!

1 tsp of all spice

1 tsp of cinnamon

Method:

  1. For the pastry sift the flour into a large bowl. Rub in the butter until it resembles breadcrumbs.
  2. Add the water to the flour mixture to help bind the pastry.
  3. Once combined, wrap the pastry in cling film and place in the refrigerator until needed.
  4. Pre-heat the oven to 180°C.
  5. For the filling, cut and peel your apples.SAMSUNG CSC
  6. In a saucepan, melt your butter and add the cut apples.
  7. Allow the apples to stew for a couple of minutes and add in a handful of currants.
  8. Sprinkle your sugar, all spice and cinnamon over the apples and continue to stew. Cook until the apples have softened, this should take about 5-10 minutes.
  9. After this time, take the filling off the heat and allow to cool down.
  10. Remove the pastry from the fridge and roll out to the dimensions of your tin, plus a little more, it’s better to have an over hang of pastry than too little! Remember to reserve about 1/3 of the pastry for the top!

    SAMSUNG CSC

    I think I went a tad overboard with the excess pastry

  11. Once your tin is lined, add the cooled down filling and spread evenly.
  12. Roll out the remaining pastry for the top. With a small brush, run along the edges of the pastry with some water, place the pastry on top and press the edges together to seal.
  13. Trim the edges of excess pastry off. As I don’t like wasting food, with the excess pastry, roll it out once more and cut some shapes out- I went for stars!
  14. Arrange the shapes on top, and brush on egg wash. In the centre, prick the pastry to allow the steam to escape.
  15. Place in the oven and bake for 45 minutes until golden brown.
  16. Serve up the pie, with ice-cream, custard or on its own!
IMG_0931

The finished product. Not too shabby for my first pie!

IMG_0934

Just had to take a slice!

 

IMG_0939

Pie selfie!

Stay tuned, my next recipe will be one of my favourites! A Mauritian Tarte Banane, aka a banana tart.

 

Leave a Reply

