What are your spots trying to tell you?

My skin story.

I’ve been breaking out a bit recently. It first started around my eyebrows and then slowly spread. If there is one thing that I cannot stand, that’s my skin being so spotty! I’ve had trouble with my skin. I’ve had a bad phase of acne during University, and no products even though how much it claimed to help with acne worked on my skin. I think every morning I would be greeted in the mirror by a new unwelcome guest. I eventually became so fed up with the state of my face that I went to the Doctors. Thankfully, they knew exactly how to help me and prescribed me two things; Epiduo and Tetralysal 300 (lymecycline) and within 18 months of taking these medicines my skin began to clear and heal.

Fast forward two years and my skin regime slowly became more stable and my complexion became better thanks to Clinique and Cethapil. Until, I came down with chicken pox last summer, I was doing so well in avoiding this virus! Fast forward another 6 months and my skin has begun to heal from the scarring. But due to a number of factors I have begun to break out again!

So why is my skin breaking out? Perhaps it is one of these factors, or all of them:

  1. My glasses. (I have a small nose bridge and glasses don’t really sit well). Thus me having to push them up are causing a build-up of bacteria there.
  2. My diet. I have been eating out recently, and it isn’t always healthy. Just this weekend I did eat out 4 days in row. Both my skin and waistline are paying for this now.
  3. The weather and central heating. The constant shift from cold to hot not only gives me a headache, I think it dries my skin out.
  4. I’m lazy. I just don’t do enough exercise…this one might be a bit harder to change.

I remember once, stumbling across face mapping and thought perhaps this would give me an insight into why I was breaking out. Looking at key areas on my face, it isn’t hard to see that this might actually be spot on. According to this method, different areas on your face are linked to certain parts of your body and diet.

????????1200px

Number 1&2 – This is linked to your digestive system and bladder.

Getting spots in this area may mean you need to look into your diet. Drink more water and limit the amount of junk food you eat. Incorporating more fresh fruits and veggies into your diet would be a great and simple option.

Number 3: (this is my problem area) This area is linked to your liver.

Spots in this area mean you may need to reduce your intake of alcohol and diary. A remedy for this could be more sleep and 30 minutes of light exercise each day. (I guess all those restaurant meals are coming back to bite me in the bum…well I should say face)

Number 4 & 5 – your kidneys

According to the site She Knows, if you have been working extra hours, drinking too much coffee and juggling too many commitments, it is going to show up in this area. If your under eye area is puffy and blue, you are depleting your liver or kidneys by eating too much rich food.  This also applies if the inner corner of the eyes have a sunken, dark blue look to it. This can also indicate a problem with allergies.

Number 6: Heart– Oriental medicine suggests that breakouts in this part of your face may result from high blood pressure, poor diet or even, yes, constipation. Also decreasing your intake of meat, spicy food may be of help. Likewise, eating good fats like Omega 3 may also be a good option. Note this area is also full of pores, so be sure to check your make-up has not expired, and that you regularly clean your brushes! (I like to use olive oil and baby shampoo to deep clean mine!)

Number 7 & 8: Kidneys — Again, drink up! And cut down on fizzy drinks, coffee and alcohol as these will cause further dehydration.

Number 9 & 10: Respiratory system — Do you smoke or have allergies? This is your problem area for both. If neither of these is the issue, don’t let your body overheat, eat more cooling foods, cut down on sugar and get more fresh air. Keep the body more alkaline by avoiding foods like dairy, alcohol, caffeine, sugar and eating more green veggies.

Number 11 & 12: Hormones — This is the signature zone for stress and hormonal changes. While both are sometimes unavoidable, you can help ease their effect by getting more sleep, drinking plenty of water, eating leafy veggies and keeping skin scrupulously clean.

Number 13: Stomach  Increase your fibre intake and reduce the toxin overload. Perhaps drinking herbal teas will help with your digestion. I always have a cup of green tea in my hand!

Number 14: Illness — Spots here can be a sign that your body is fighting bacteria to avoid illness.  Why not take a nap, take time to relax, drink plenty of water?

Hopefully with this information at hand, I can stop worrying about my complexion and work on cleaning my body from the inside! Slowly but surely my skin will clear and yours will too!

Leave a Reply

